Travel Restrictions Due to Omicron

Travel restrictions increase with the emergence of the Omicron variant. This variant was first detected in South Africa and has been classified as a Variant of Concern meaning there is an increased risk of transmissibility and severe disease. Since the Omicron variant was discovered new travel restrictions have been imposed.

Any foreign nationals coming from the following 10 African countries within the past 14 days are not allowed to enter Canada. These include Botswana, Egypt, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, and Zimbabwe. Canadian citizens and permanent residents also must get a COVID-19 test in a third country to return home.

All travelers must also get on-arrival testing and will need to quarantine at home if they are coming from any country other than the U.S.

To find out more about any travel restrictions and see if you can enter Canada you can use this web tool by the Government of Canada. This tool does not guarantee entry and the border officer will have the final say.

According to the Government of Canada to qualify as a fully vaccinated traveler, you must:

  • Within the last 14 days, not have been in a listed country with Canadian COVID-19 Omicron restrictions
  • Have received at least 2 doses of a vaccine accepted for travel, a mix of 2 accepted vaccines
    • or at least 1 dose of the Janssen/Johnson & Johnson vaccine
  • Have received your second dose at least 14 full days before you enter Canada
  • Have no signs or symptoms of COVID-19
  • Follow pre-entry testing and entry requirements

Sources: Government of Canada & CIC News

Leave a Comment

Scroll to Top
Contact Us